Wednesday, July 1, 2009

New Seat Belt Law in Florida

New Seat Belt Law in FloridaStarting June 30, 2009 law enforcement officers can stop you for the single offense of not wearing your seat belt. Officers no longer have to have another reason to stop a vehicle to issue a citation for a seat belt violation. Now, motorists can be ticketed if either they or their front seat passengers fail to wear their seat belt. All passengers under 18 years of age are also required to wear seat belts, regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle. The penalty is a $30 fine plus administrative and court costs, which makes most tickets cost about $100, varying by county.